Pretty and Practical

Being a one(ish) income household, I adopted a cash envelope system for household expenses earlier this year.  I believe Dave Ramsey promotes a simlar system–but for your entire budget.  Basically, I  dole out a certain amount of cash either weekly or (preferrably) monthly, and that’s my budget come hell or high water.  It’s a great way to keep yourself in check if you notice (as i did) that you are spending way more than you should on silly crap. (or the fabric store…*blush*) As we are trying to pay down some debt, this is a great way to put the credit cards out of commission and pay them off.

Anywhoozles, the paper envelopes I was using just kept getting trashed, and it seemed silly to keep replacing them.  Until I saw a picture on pinterest that changed my world.  Fabric envelopes with a little clutch for them all.  I loved this idea, not only for the strength of it, but also that i could take whatever envelope I needed and just put it in my fold up wallet and I KNEW it wouldn’t slip out since it was fabric against fabric.  PERFECT.

It took me a couple tries, but eventually this is what i came up with:

The labels are simply muslin with iron-on labels i printed up.  But you could also sew on a vinyl covered material patch that you could write on too.

And the cute clutch to hold them all:

I only have five envelopes at present, but i’m sure more will be made as my categories change (ie.  right now I have a “gift giving” envelope  in use, but will be empty come january…).  And I made this all from my scrap stash, but I am inspired to possibly make these for sale in matchy-matchy quilter’s cottons.  There are a few sellers on Etsy who make these, and charge a pretty penny as well…

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretty and Practical

  1. Mom says:

    Your grocery one has Love Pie – It’s a great idea and I can vouch that they are very well made. Might work with coupons too.

  2. Leave it to you to make something I’ve been telling myself I need to make, except for my coupons. All the ones at stores are too big for what I need/have. 😀 Awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

