Practice makes Practical

So, I knit.  This is hardly a newsflash.  I’ve crocheted since I was a pre-teen, and I taught myself to knit maybe 10 years ago?  Well, I watched some You-Tube videos and figured out the rest

Anyway, I consider myself still pretty unskilled, knitting-wise.  I mean, I can make a hat like a mofo, and circular knitting is my BITCH, but some stuff still intimidates me.  My lace always looks like ass because I lose count, I’ve never even tried fair-aisle or any real color carrying other than rows, and cabling?  *shudder*

But this is why the Lord invented dishcloths.

I used to think knitting intricate dishcloths was the biggest, stupidest waste of wastefulness.  And then I remembered my own crafty family.

I come from a long line of crafty women.  And something my grandmother and mother taught me by example was the creation of the “practice” item.  Whether trying a new stitch, figuring out a sewing technique, or learning anything new, it’s always great to practice.  In fact, that is how proficiency is garnered.

When I was teaching, I noticed a great fear of practicing–my students always wanted to get it right  the first time.  And while sometimes that CAN happen, it usually doesn’t.  And there’s nothing wrong with practicing anything.  Hell, even wedding dress makers make a MUSLIN before they start sewing on the good stuff.  You feel me?  practice is good.  Dancers don’t hit the stage right after reading a choreography.  Singers rarely get on a mike without singing the song a few times before.  And crafters don’t get GOOD without making a few items that might look…well…like it was for practice.

Luckily, the knit dishcloth is perfect.  You get to practice a stitch and learn a few skills, and in the end you have a practical tool for your kitchen.  Because, honestly, who’s gonna look at your dishcloth?  Really?

Even if they look this good:

I was practicing my cabling there.  As a continental knitter, my purls are never at the same tension as my knits, and I always end up with a gap after my cable twists.  The only way to improve that?  PRACTICE.

This entry was posted in knitting, yarn craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practice makes Practical

  1. Mom says:

    Look at you-cable stitch!! As you know my most favorite afghans that your grandma crocheted are the “practice” ones of many colors. AND you crocheted doilies – something your grandmother and I both loved but your grandmother didn’t have the patience and I, well I already had my obsession in cross stitch. Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

